Connie Q. Umberger, Nantucket Lighthouse School grandmother and former Chair of the Board founded the Nantucket Garden Festival as a fundraiser for the Nantucket Lighthouse School, which has long used gardens and gardening as an educational tool. 

Nantucket lighthouse school hoop house

Nantucket lighthouse school hoop house

Throughout the years, the Festival has celebrated island gardening through informative workshops, exquisite garden tours, educational and inspirational keynote addresses, creative family activities, parties and more. 

Past Presenters Include:

2019 - Eliot Coleman (Keynote Address) and Barbara Damrosch, Four Season Farm; Jill Landry, Beach Plum Floral; Ed Bowen and Taylor Johnston, Issima Nursery; Lee Buttala, Author; Dawn Kelly Soiree Floral.

2018 - Landscape Designer, Educator and Author Thomas Rainer of Phyto Studio (Keynote Address); Jennie Love of Love ‘n Fresh Flowers.

2017 - Landscape Designer and Author Rick Darke, Gardens of the High Line.

2016 - Russell Morash, Founder of The Victory Garden and This Old House, and Gordon Hayward, Author and Garden Designer.

2015 - Author and Garden Designer Rochelle Greayer of Pith & Vigor.

2014 - Author C.L. Fornari 

2013 - Author Amy Stewart and Garden Designer George Schoellkopf

2012 - Stephanie Cohen, Author and "Perennial Diva" and Sheila Brady, Landscape Architect. 

2011 - Author Page Dickey

2010 - Horticulturist and Author Tracy DiSabato-Aust, Plantsman Russell Stafford and Authors Noel Kingsbury and Stephen Orr

2009 - Horticulturist Holly Shimizu and David Wheeler, Founder of HORTUS Gardening Journal

A special thank you to the Nantucket Garden Festival Committee and Advisory Committee.

Rachel Afshari
Jenne Atherton
Alana Cullen
Lindsay Curry
Kaity Farrell
Logan Gomes
Margaret Hallowell
Katie Hemingway
Alix Houghton
Leith Kinney
Lu Macchiavelli
Lindsey Maurer
Charity Grace Mofsen
Amy Pallenberg
Henry Sanford
Bee Shay
Candice Tétrault
Sarah Travaglione
Holly Witherell
Julie Wood
Barbara Zachary

Charity Benz
Caroline Ellis
Cary Hazlegrove
Virginia Kinney
Marian Morash
Russell Morash
Susan O’Brien
Dale Rutherford
Connie Umberger